7 Stages Of Puppy Development

If you’re parenting a young puppy, you’re certain to notice some changes as they mature. Both mental and physical changes occur. Understanding the seven phases of puppy development can assist you in properly preparing to raise your puppy.

Stage 1: Neonatal 

This is when your puppy is between the ages of 0 and 2 weeks. When pups can’t see or hear, they’re said to be blind. They even need assistance from their mother in the bathroom. The puppy’s mother is also in charge of feeding and keeping the puppy warm. Puppies usually quadruple their birth weight in the first week. All of their efforts are focused on expanding.

Stage 2: Transitional 

When your puppy is 2-3 weeks old, it is in the transitional period. This is the time when both their eyes and ears open. At this age, the majority of pups begin to stand and walk. This is the time to start socializing your puppy with your other pets.

Stage 3 – Socialization of the Dog

Your dog is roughly 3-7 weeks old at this point. This is the time when your puppy starts to develop personality, interacts with other animals, and forms bonds. When pups are separated from their mothers at this age, they may become obnoxious, loud, and even violent. A complete set of puppy teeth should emerge between weeks 4 and 6.

Stage 4: Human Socialization

This occurs between the ages of 7 and 12 weeks for your dog. Puppies may normally be adopted out at this time, leaving their mother and littermates behind. This is also the start of the “first fear” era. Any traumatic events that occur at this time might develop into a life-long condition. For example, if your puppy exhibits a fear of strangers around this time, it may become a lifelong problem.

Stage 5: The Seniority Classification Stage

Your dog will be 12 to 16 weeks old at this point. This is when your puppy is attempting to determine who is in charge. Inappropriate biting and nibbling of hands, clothes, and leashes must be discouraged. If the pups are still with their littermates at this point, they will battle for dominance.

Stage 6 – Period of Flight Instinct

Stage 6 occurs between 4 and 8 months. During this time, your puppy may not listen to you and may even run away instead of coming to you when called. The best thing to do is wait for this time to pass and keep them on a leash until it does.

Stage 7: Adolescent Stage

This occurs between the ages of 6 and 18 months for your dog. For dogs, this is roughly the “teenager” period. It’s possible that your dog may develop bizarre new worries and “flake out.” Animal behaviorists refer to this as the “second fear impact stage.” Be patient with your puppy and ignore their protests to educate them that they don’t need to be afraid. Avoid petting and soothing your dog since this will just encourage their worries.

Is the puppy stage the most difficult?

Approximately half of the owners and trainers picked 3-4 months as the most challenging age, with nipping being the most difficult aspect of this age.

Approximately 35% of owners and trainers picked 8-9 months as the most difficult age, citing new demanding habits like as yanking on the leash or counter-surfing as a result of their puppy’s now greater size.

What is the most crucial stage in a puppy’s development?

The time between 0 and 16 weeks is critical in your puppy’s development. This time span includes human socialization from 0 to 12 weeks as well as canine socialization from 0 to 16 weeks. He will learn more in that little period of time than he has in his whole life. Learning windows will open, but if they are not stimulated while they are open, they will shut and the chance will be missed. This essay will explain what you need to do and, more importantly, when you need to do it.

Michael Hogan

San Gabriel Valley California Bird Seed Delivery. Huge selection of Pet and Wild Seed & Food. Free delivery. Pick up option also avaulable.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button